Gazette Ceases Publication: Donates Archives to LHS

In 2010, the Larchmont Gazette ceased publication. In 2011 the publishers donated all contents to the Larchmont Historical Society, which will continue to make the Gazette archives available online.

All inquiries should be addressed to the Larchmont Historical Society.

Comments closed

Eagles Take Minors Soccer Title in Penalty Kick Shootout

In a heart-stopping conclusion on Saturday, November 21, the Eagles captured the championship of the Larchmont Junior Soccer League’s Boys Minors Division, defeating the previously undefeated Rangers 2-1 in a penalty kick shootout.

The Eagles jumped out to a 1-0 lead, which they carried deep into the second half behind an outstanding defense. But with time running out in regulation play, the Rangers found an opening and capitalized, scoring the tying goal with less than five seconds on the clock.

Under the league’s expedited tie-breaking procedures, the teams went immediately to a best-of-three penalty kick shootout.

The Eagles turned away two of the three Rangers attempts, while scoring two goals of their own to secure the victory.

The Eagles had given up only 2 goals in their last six games on the way to the championship. The Rangers capped off their season by going on to capture the Minors Division Pele Cup later on Saturday.

The Eagles:

The Eagles: Kneeling (l-r) Louis Chabrat, Lucas Loureiro, Gavin Zinghini, Jialin Yang and Danny Jewell. Standing: Leo Vallely, Anton Bender, Jason Cappo, William Sarkozi, Will Holzman and Peter Larkin. Coaches: Paul Sarkozi, Rick Holzman and Ken Zinghini

PrintFriendlyTwitterGoogle GmailYahoo MailShare

Related Articles:

  • No Related Articles Found

Sorry, comments are closed.