Gazette Ceases Publication: Donates Archives to LHS

In 2010, the Larchmont Gazette ceased publication. In 2011 the publishers donated all contents to the Larchmont Historical Society, which will continue to make the Gazette archives available online.

All inquiries should be addressed to the Larchmont Historical Society.

Comments closed

MHS Future Biz Leaders are State Champs Again

For the second year in a row, the Mamaroneck High School Future Business Leaders of America earned the highest honor in the state in the “Chapter of the Year” event at the State Leadership Conference in Rochester, NY.  Students created an award-winning scrapbook which documented their entire local, district, and state participation in FBLA events. The scrapbook followed a state rubric with 29 categories. (See: Local FBLA Takes Gold at State Competition.)

FBLA is the premier business-related leadership organization for students with over 200,000 members.  There are 160 chapters in New York State alone.  The State Leadership Conference is the climax of the year at the state level.

The Mamaroneck chapter members won many individual and team events at the conference, which took place from April 21 to 24.  Seven members qualifed to represent New York State at the National Leadership Conference in Anaheim, California from June 25 to 28 by placing either first or second in various contests.

“It is so exciting to be called on the stage to be recognized for having the best scrapbook in the state and meeting all the qualifications on the state rubric. This has been the best experience in my life so far,” said Jewelie Elsbree, creator of the award-winning scrapbook.

The Mamaroneck FBLA displays the many trophies earned at the state conference.

The Mamaroneck FBLA displays the many trophies earned at the state conference.

The following awards were won at the conference:

Chapter of the Year – 1st place: Jewelie Esbree, scrapbook author

Local Chapter Annual Business Report – 1st place: Benjamin Silverstein

FBLA Principles and Procedures – 1st place: Benjamin Silverstein

Mr. Future Business Leader – 1st place: Matt Kanterman

Website Development – 2nd place: Sam Sawyer, Rory O’Connor, Jewelie Elsbree

Digital Video Production – 2nd place: Josh Saideman, Jewelie Elsbree

Global Business – 2nd place: Giancarlo Riso, Rory O’Connor, Matt Kanterman

Outstanding New FBLA Member – 3rd place: Josh Kanterman

Public Speaking I – 4th place: Benjamin Silverstein

Emerging Business Issues – 5th place: Giancarlo Riso, Rory O’Connor, Sam Sawyer

Word Processing I – 5th place: Sam Saideman

Introduction to Business Communication – 5th place: Adam Zable

Introduction to Technology Concepts – 5th place: Adam Zable

FBLA Principles and Procedures – 5th place: Denis Lukashkov

PrintFriendlyTwitterGoogle GmailYahoo MailShare

Related Articles:

  • No Related Articles Found

Sorry, comments are closed.